beauty, foundations

NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation | Review

naimaartistry-nars-allday-luminous-foundation

NARS Cosmetics is a French cosmetics and skin care company founded by make-up artist and photographer François Nars in 1994. The cosmetics line began with twelve lipsticks sold at Barneys New York. Since then, NARS has created various multi-use beauty products.

Now that you have a general idea of the company, lets move on to the product I will review for you guys. It’s one of their most hyped foundation i.e. NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation ($49). I also bought their most raved about Radiant Creamy Concealer ($30). Review for that will be up tomorrow. So anyway, lets look at the product information first and then we’ll move onto the review.

According to their website:

Full, natural-looking coverage with unexpectedly weightless, 16-hour wear. Highly pigmented and perfectly balanced, this breakthrough formula builds and blends effortlessly with just one drop—the result of exclusive innovation uniquely designed to deliver long-wearing full coverage, weightlessly. Shake, pump and blend in sections for complete coverage that’s completely natural looking.

  • Advanced flexible polymers move with the skin, providing extraordinary breathability and comfort.
  • First-to-market treated pigments weightlessly deliver long-wearing, complete coverage without ever masking for perfected, natural-looking skin.
  • Streamlined packaging with easy-lift cap.

KEY CLAIMS
92% felt the foundation provided coverage without masking*
93% thought it felt weightless*
90% said it felt comfortable and breathable*
*based on an independent consumer study after one week of use.

naimaartistry-nars-allday-luminous-foundation-shade

NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation comes in a matte transparent glass bottle with a matte black plastic cap. I love the packaging of this foundation, it’s very chic and classy but of course there are down sides to it. You have be very careful with the storage of this foundation as it can break anytime and because it is a glass bottle it makes it difficult to travel with. I took it with me to Maldives and thankfully nothing happened to it. 🙂 Anyway, it comes with pump dispenser which I am so happy about. Foundations without a pump dispenser are very unhygienic and not to forget very messy.

naimaartistry-nars-allday-luminous-foundation-pump

The total amount you get for $49 is 1 Fl. Oz. or 30 mL which is what most foundations come in. I bought mine from Sephora USA, incase you guys are wondering. I am in the shade Medium 4- Barcelona. I have a combination skin type. As you can see from the picture above, the shade matches me perfectly. Barcelona as described on their website is for Medium skin tone  with golden, peachy undertones. As I have a combination skin type, meaning my T-zone being the oily parts of my face and the rest being dry/normal. During summers I tend to become more oilier than usual and living in a country with such bad weather, it’s almost difficult to make any foundation last on my face. By the way, it’s a light weight, full coverage foundation.

naimaartistry-nars-allday-luminous-foundation-swatch

Well, I have to be honest when I first used this foundation I did not like it. I applied it using a beauty blender sponge and I did not like the finish it gave me. It didn’t blend evenly. The foundation was clinging onto my dry patches. It made my skin look SO bad! I didn’t use this foundation again until recently. I thought of giving this foundation another shot as everybody raved about it. I tried it both with a beauty blender sponge and a buffing brush. And this time, it amazed me (in a good way).

naimaartistry-nars-allday-luminous-foundation-swatch-blended

As for the lasting power of this foundation, well, it lasted for about 3 hours before I started to notice shine (it didn’t look oily but rather dewy). This foundation is very easy to touch up. A lot of foundations get caky or weird if you touch up, this one does not. The foundation got oily and slightly rubbed off from my t-zone (especially my nose and forehead) by the next 2 or 3 hours. This is the only foundation that lasted this long on my skin so that’s a plus plus for me.

Over all, I do like this foundation. I would recommend this to people with normal to combination skin type. This foundation is definitely not for oily skin types.

Tips: moisturize your skin very very well before using this foundation, make sure there are no dead skins/flakiness.

Pros:

  • lasts for about 5/6 hours
  • lots of shades to choose from
  • pump dispenser
  • full coverage
  • exceptionally natural finish (if blended properly)
  • fragrance-free

Cons:

  • $49 for a foundation is expensive
  • accentuates dry areas
  • glass bottle

Who has tried this foundation and what did you think about it? Do you have a better foundation recommendation for me. Leave a comment below. You can also follow me on SnapchatInstagram, Facebook and Twitter. Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post.

xoxo,

Naima

4 thoughts on “NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation | Review”

Leave a Reply

