beauty, foundations

Wet N Wild Photo Focus Foundation | Review

naimaartistry-wetnwild-photofocus-foundation

Wet N Wild is a cruelty-free drugstore makeup brand. I am sure many of you have heard about this brand. They are a Los Angeles, California based company. Recently Wet N Wild has come up with several new lines including “Photo Focus” which includes foundation, concealer and pressed powder. I have recently managed to get my hands on their new foundation i.e. Wet N Wild Photo Focus Foundation. I have watched many beauty bloggers/vloggers rave about this foundation and decided to give it a try. So I bought mine from an online makeup and beauty retailer that import products from USA. If you don’t know I live in Dhaka, Bangladesh. So lets check out the product information first.

naimaartistry-wetnwild-photofocus-foundation-back

According to the website:

Your skin, only better. Our new high-performing, skin-perfecting foundation underwent major road testing under seven different photo lighting conditions to deliver flawless camera-ready makeup every time. Specially made with a matte, light-diffusing complex to give your skin #nofilter perfection.

  • High-performing, breakthrough formula
  • Featuring light-adjusting complex to help prevent white cast in photos
  • Tested under 7 light conditions with and without the use of flash

naimaartistry-wetnwild-photofocus-foundation-photo

First of all, this foundation comes in a glass bottle with a flat plastic stick for application. I am not sure how I fell about the plastic stick thing for application. This is my first time using such a thing for foundation application. But I must say it’s makes my foundation cap very messy, which really irritates me. Anyway, it’s travel friendly, but you have to pack it safely as its a glass bottle, and the best part is it doesn’t leak. Oh! and it retails for $5.99 on their website and $4.68 on Walmart.

naimaartistry-wetnwild-photofocus-foundation-open

I got it in the shade Classic Beige which is the twelfth shade in the range and somewhere in between in the medium tone range. They have a total of 20 shades to choose from, which means you are most likely to find your shade match. Sounds good already! 😀 The shade that I got, I was expecting it to be more neutral or yellow under toned but surprisingly it’s peachy.  Not that I am complaining, it doesn’t look very peachy after application. And my face to chest area is lighter than the rest of my body.

naimaartistry-wetnwild-photofocus-foundation-swatch

So as you can see from the picture above the consistency of this foundation is thick and it dries to a powder finish. Sounds great, right? 😀 Well, it is! I love how it applies and blends on my skin. Being a matte foundation it did not cling onto the dry areas of my skin. And even though it is a thick foundation, it feels very light and velvety on the skin. It does not feel sticky or greasy like my Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation.

It also doesn’t take take much time to set. So to all the working ladies who don’t have much time in the morning this is a go-to quick foundation. This foundation has quickly become my favorite and I always tend to go for it instead of my NARS one (I do still use my NARS but on special occasions). This foundation has a weird chemical smell which many of you might not like. I personally do not have a problem with it’s smell and it’s not very strong either.

naimaartistry-wetnwild-photofocus-foundation-swatch

I have noticed that this foundation acts like a blurring primer and makes your skin look flawless or air brushed. It makes my pores look so good. It also does not leave a white cast on your face with flash photography. Lasting power of this foundation is pretty good as well, it lasts on my skin for about 3-4 hours before I noticed some shine on my skin (not greasy, but dewy). I started to get oily on my usual T-zone area by the 2/3rd hour. This foundation surprisingly did not rub off from my nose which most foundations do, which is a plus plus for me. FYI I am a combination skin type in case you did not know.

I would recommend this foundation to anybody with any skin type. This foundation suits all skin types from what I have seen. This would be your go-to foundation! 🙂

PROS:

  • cruelty free
  • budget friendly, costs $5.99
  • travel friendly
  • huge shade range, 20 shades to be precise
  • foundation sets quickly
  • no white cast with flash photography
  • natural finish, looks like your skin but better
  • matte, liquid to powder finish
  • good/average amount of lasting power
  • blurs skin, makes pores look smaller

CONS:

  • glass bottle
  • plastic stick like applicator, not hygienic
  • foundation cap gets messy because of the plastic stick like applicator
  • dries fast making it difficult to blend

I hope you guys found my review helpful. Leave a comment below and let me know your thoughts. You can follow me on SnapchatInstagram, Facebook and Twitter. Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post.

xoxo,

Naima

5 thoughts on “Wet N Wild Photo Focus Foundation | Review”

Leave a Reply

