beauty, primers

Tarte Clean Slate Poreless 12-hr Pecfecting Primer (Discontinued) | Review

naimaartistry-tarte-cleanslate-primer-front

Tarte cosmetics has been in market since the year 2000 when it was founded by Maureen Kelly. Tarte has recently gained a lot of attention and has increased their sales due to their improved and new packaging. They have also come up with several new product lines over the last 2 years. My first purchase from Tarte was their BB Tinted Treatment 12-hr Primer SPF 30 (I will post a review soon). I fell in love with it the moment I first applied it on my skin. And so I decided to try their then popular primer. Like always let’s look at the product description first.

According to their website:

A skin-perfecting, waterproof mattifying primer base that not only helps keep your makeup in place for up to 12 hours, but it also refines the appearance of pores and diffuses fine lines and imperfections.

naimaartistry-tarte-cleanslate-primer-back

Many of might know, Tarte Clean Slate line is now discontinued. They now have Tarte Poreless Mattifying Primer instead, which retails for $32. It’s available at both Sephora and Ulta. I bought mine back in July last year from Sephora USA. It retailed for $31 and the amount you get is 30mL/ 1 Fl. Oz. which is the standard amount. It comes in a matte plastic bottle with a wooden print screw cap. And the best part (at least for me) it’s bottle is purple in color. And I love purple! ❤ Also it’s very light weight and travel friendly. I took this primer with me to Maldives last year.

naimaartistry-tarte-cleanslate-primer-swatch

The primer itself is cloudy in color but it becomes transparent once you blend it. Consistency wise, it’s very thick and feels silicone like but that being said it doesn’t clog my pores or feel heavy on the skin. I like the way my skin looks after applying this primer. It makes my skin super matte, fills in my pores, smoothes my skin’s over all texture. I often wear this primer on its own whenever I don’t want to wear foundation but want my skin to look flawless. 🙂

naimaartistry-tarte-cleanslate-primer-swatchblended

I have struggled to find a face primer for my combination skin type to keep my skin matte on the T-zone but not dry out my already dry areas. This primer is all I was looking for. I am so happy I bought this primer. 😀 It keeps my face matte for around 3-4 hours depending on the weather outside. It’s summer time in Bangladesh and summers here are very hot and humid. I know a lot of you might think 3-4 hours is not a long time but trust me, where I live this is pretty good. And guess what, this primer is actually waterproof.

I would highly recommend this to anybody looking for a mattifying primer. It suits all skin types.

PROS:

  • Cruelty-free
  • No Parabens
  • Waterproof
  • Contains Avocado oil
  • 30mL/ 1 Fl. Oz., standard amount
  • Vitamin A, B1, B2, D, E for skin smoothing
  • Keeps skin matte for 3-4 hours

CONS:

  • High end makeup
  • Discontinued
  • Expensive, $31
  • Feels silicone-like
  • 3-4 hours might be a con for some

I hope you guys found my review helpful. Leave a comment below and let me know your thoughts. You can follow me on Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook and Twitter. Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post.

xoxo,

Naima

3 thoughts on “Tarte Clean Slate Poreless 12-hr Pecfecting Primer (Discontinued) | Review”

Leave a Reply

