beauty, powders

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powders | Review

naimaartistrt-rimmel-staymattepowder-sandstorm-warmbeige

Face powders are an essential beauty product that everyone needs. Different people have different requirements with their face powders, for example: some want it to keep their skin matte, some want it to give them a flawless coverage, while others simply want it to set their makeup.

naimaartistry-rimmel-staymattepowder-sandstorm-warmbeige-2

Today the powders that I am reviewing are my holy grail face powders. These are the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powders. I got them in the shade Sandstorm and Warm Beige. They retail for US $5.49 in ULTA.

According to their website:

Rimmel Stay Matte is an oil-absorbing pressed powder that leaves you with a flawless, shine-free complexion. Helps to minimize the appearance of large pores. Dermatologically tested.

naimaartistry-rimmel-staymattepowder-sandstorm-warmbeige-3

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder has 8 shades in total. Now I must say that 8 shades are not really a good range, which means not everybody would find their shade. Anyway, I got the shades Sandstorm (004) and Warm Beige (006).

naimaartistry-rimmel-staymattepowder-sandstorm-front-back

Usually the shade Sandstorm has cooler undertones when it comes to British beauty products. And it’s no different in Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Sandstorm (004) which is slightly cool toned. Since this is lighter than my skin tone and has a cool undertone, I use it to set my concealer or other highlighter areas of my face.

naimaartistry-rimmel-staymattepowder-warmbeige-front-back

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Warm Beige (006) is a warm toned beige. It’s perfect for medium skin toned girls with warm/yellowish undertones. I use this all over my face to set my makeup or I just use it alone on top of a primer to keep my face matte and flawless.

As you can see, Warm Beige has a more yellow-ish/ warm tones to it while Sandstorm has a more cool tone.

naimaartistry-rimmel-staymattepowder-sandstorm-warmbeige-swatch
(Left) Warm Beige, Sandstorm (Right)

The powder itself is very smooth and velvety to touch. It glides on very smoothly and is very light weight on the skin. It doesn’t have a lot of coverage. I would say it has a sheer-light coverage but can be build-able to a “close to medium” coverage. It justifies all the claims by the company: it gives you a flawless base, makes your pores appear smaller, keeps your skin matte.

This face powder keeps my skin matte for around 1 to 2 hours in the summer, which is good enough for me considering I live in a very humid country. And in the winter season, it keeps my skin matte for around 2 to 3 hours. You can easily retouch your face without it looking cakey. The only downside of this product is, if you have dry/flaky skin this will accentuate those dry areas.

PROS:

  • Drugstore makeup
  • Retails for only $5.49 at ULTA
  • Easily available at any drugstore
  • Suits all skin types
  • Gives a flawless finish
  • Makes pores appear smaller
  • Keeps skin matte for an average period of time
  • Easy to retouch

CONS:

  • 8 shades only
  • Accentuates dry spots/ areas
  • Might have to retouch a couple of times

 

I hope you guys found my review helpful. Leave a comment below and let me know your thoughts. You can follow me on SnapchatInstagramFacebook and Twitter. Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post.

xoxo,

Naima

Leave a Reply

